

ROY COOPER • Governor MANDY COHEN, MD, MPH • Secretary MARK T. BENTON • Assistant Secretary for Public Health Division of Public Health

May 6, 2020

## MEMORANDUM

\*\*\*This memorandum contains corrections to the meningococcal section from the initial memo. Please replace any previous versions with this copy\*\*\*

To: North Carolina Immunization Program (NCIP) Participants

From: Wendy Holmes, R.N., Head

Subject: Revised Recommendations for the use of Tetanus Containing Vaccine and Updated NC Coverage Criteria

The purpose of this memo is to notify NCIP participants of the revisions to the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) recommendations for tetanus and diphtheria toxoids (Td) vaccine or tetanus toxoid, reduced diphtheria toxoid, and acellular pertussis (Tdap) vaccine as well as the recent updates to the North Carolina Coverage Criteria. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention published updated recommendations from (ACIP) on January 24, 2020. Updated Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices can be found at <a href="https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/69/wr/mm6903a5.htm">https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/69/wr/mm6903a5.htm</a> .

The recommendations have been updated to allow either Td vaccine or Tdap to be used for the decennial Td booster, tetanus prophylaxis for wound management, and for additional required doses in the catch-up immunization schedule if a person has received at least one Tdap dose.

Additionally, one or more doses as indicated by ACIP of state supplied Tdap vaccine are available for uninsured pregnant women 19 years of age and older receiving services at the Local Health Department (LHD), or a VFC enrolled Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC), or Rural Health Clinic (RHC).

Please note: NC Immunization Law has not changed. Five doses of age appropriate diphtheria, tetanus and acellular pertussis (DTaP) vaccine are required for school entry. However, individuals who receive the first booster dose (i.e. the fourth dose) of DTaP on or after their fourth birthday are not required to have the second booster (i.e. the fifth dose). Also, a booster dose of tetanus/diphtheria/acellular pertussis containing vaccine (Tdap) is required for all individuals who have not previously received it and are entering the seventh grade or by 12 years of age, whichever comes first.

NC DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES • DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH, IMMUNIZATION BRANCH

LOCATION: 5601 Six Forks Road, Building 2, Raleigh, NC 27609 MAILING ADDRESS: 1917 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1917 www.ncdhhs.gov • TEL: 919-707-5550 • FAX: 919-870-4824 One dose of Meningococcal Conjugate Vaccine (MenACWY) is required for all individuals entering the seventh grade or by 12 years of age, whichever comes first. A booster dose is required by 17 years of age or by entering the 12<sup>th</sup> grade, whichever comes first, **beginning August 1, 2020**. However, the booster dose does not apply to the following individuals: 1) those who entered the 12<sup>th</sup> grade prior to August 1, 2020; or, 2) those who received the first dose of Meningococcal Conjugate Vaccine (MenACWY) on or after their 16<sup>th</sup> birthday. In addition, individuals born before January 1, 2003 shall not be required to receive Meningococcal Conjugate Vaccine (MenACWY). NC law for dosage and age requirements can be found <u>here</u>.

The NCIP Coverage Criteria has been updated to reflect the interchangeability of Td and Tdap as stated in this memo. Other key changes to the Coverage Criteria include:

- The universal birth dose of Hepatitis B can only be given at VFC enrolled birthing hospitals. Doses given outside of the birthing hospital will need to follow VFC eligibility requirements.
- State-supplied Meningococcal Conjugant Vaccine can no longer be given to uninsured, unvaccinated first year college students (ages 19-22) living in dormitories, as all students attending NC colleges are required to be covered by insurance and considered ineligible for VFC vaccine.
- Adults (both male and female) enrolled in the Be Smart Family Planning program receiving services at a Local Health Department (LHD), Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC), or a Rural Health Clinic (RHC) can receive state supplied Fluzone. Previous verbiage noted females only.
- Uninsured women ages 19-44 must be **unvaccinated** against varicella in order to receive one state-supplied varicella dose at any LHD.
- Under the Coverage Criteria Supplement for Outbreak Response/Prevention, universal Tdap administration by LHDs in response to Hurricane Florence has ended.

The updated coverage criteria can be accessed via the link below. For your convenience, a version with all the changes highlighted is also available via the link. https://immunize.nc.gov/providers/coveragecriteria.htm

For additional information regarding ACIP recommendations or the NC Coverage Criteria please contact the Immunization Branch Nurse On-Call at 919-707-5575 or via email at <u>ncirhelp@dhhs.nc.gov</u>

CC: Immunization Branch Staff SMT Susan Little