Skip all navigation Skip to page navigation

DHHS Home | A-Z Site Map | Divisions | About Us | Contacts |

NC Department of Health and Human Services
Women's and Children's Health Home
N.C. Public Health Home
North Carolina Immunization Branch

Child Care Facilities

All children in North Carolina must be vaccinated against certain diseases. Immunization records are checked when a child enters a child care facility. North Carolina law requires all children in the state to receive certain immunizations. Records are checked when children enter school or child care.

Annual Immunization Reports

Mail Reporting Instructions

  • Fill out the Child Care Facility Worksheet on Children’s Immunizations. Save a copy for your records. Do not mail.
  • Fill out the Child Care Facility Summary Report on Children’s Immunizations using the information collected on the Worksheet. Save a copy for your records.
  • Once the form is complete, mail the completed summary report to:

    N.C. Department of Health and Human Services
    Division of Public Health
    Immunization Branch
    1917 Mail Service Center
    Raleigh, NC 27699-1917

  • Report all data as of calendar day 30 after the child’s first day of attendance.
  • Please use the birth date range of November 16, 2010 through March 16, 2014 to answer questions concerning enrollment of 19 months through 59 months on question A in the summary report.
  • Please mail the information by December 31, 2015.

Reporting Tools (2015 Reporting Tools are not available yet)

  • Memo: Instructions for Child Care Centers Immunization Reporting
  • Blank Child Care Facility Worksheet (PDF, KB) (DHHS) *Please use this document only to gather data. Do not submit to the Immunization Branch*
  • Blank Child Care Facility Summary Report (PDF, KB) (DHHS)


Q: What happens if I do not submit this report?
A: Child care facilities are required by law [G.S. 130A-155(c)] to submit the requested information. The deadline to submit is December 31, 2015.

Q: What happens if a parent does not submit their child’s immunization records within 30 days of attendance?
A: The child should be not be allowed to attend child care until their records are up-to-date.

Q: If a child only attends the facility for one day and never returns, do I still have to report on their immunization status?
A: Yes, the child’s immunization status must be reported.


Information on vaccination requirements and other resources can be found on our Child Care Requirements page.