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TO: Child Care Facilities in North Carolina 
 
FROM: Wendy Holmes, RN, Head  
 Immunization Branch 
 
SUBJECT: New and Revised Immunization Rules and Requirements Effective July 1, 2015 
 
The purpose of this memo is to inform you of  new vaccine requirements and changes to existing requirements as 
documented in North Carolina Administrative Code 10A NCAC 41A .0401 Dosage and Age Requirements for 
Immunization. The changes were made to more closely align NC requirements with the current Advisory 
Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) recommendations. The new vaccine requirements and changes to 
previous vaccine requirements will become effective July 1, 2015.   
 
Highlights of the new vaccine requirements and the revised requirements are listed below. Details of the rule 
changes may be found in the updated NCAC 10A available on the North Carolina Immunization Program website 
at: www.immunize.nc.gov.  Additional information may be found in the attached flier, Children in Child Care – 
What Shots Do They Need. 
 
New Vaccine Requirements 
• Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV) – 4 doses by 15 months of age 

o The number of vaccine doses required depends on the age of the child when the vaccine series began. 
o Infants born on or after July 1 will be required to have PCV as early as September upon turning 2 months 

of age. 
o No individual 5 years of age or older is required to receive PCV. 

• Meningococcal conjugate vaccine (MCV) – 2 doses 
o One dose is required for individuals entering the 7th grade or by 12 years of age whichever comes first. 
o Booster dose is required for individuals entering the 12th grade or 17 years of age beginning August 1, 

2020. 
o If the first dose is administered on or after the 16th birthday, the booster dose is not required. 
 

Changes to Previous Vaccine Requirements 
• Polio vaccine – the booster (4th) dose is required on or after the 4th birthday and before entering school for the 

first time. 
• Varicella vaccine – 2 doses administered at least 28 days apart 

o One dose is required on or after 12 months of age and before 19 months. 
o A second dose is required before entering school for the first time. 
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o Documentation of disease must be from a physician, nurse practitioner, or physician’s assistant verifying 
history of varicella disease.  Documentation must include the name of the individual with history of 
disease, approximate date or age of infection and a healthcare provider signature. 

• Tetanus, diphtheria, and pertussis (whooping cough) – Tdap 
o A booster dose of Tdap is required for individuals who have not previously received Tdap and who are 

entering 7th grade or by 12 years of age, whichever comes first. 
• School Entry from 6th to 7th Grade 

o Simultaneous administration of Tdap and MCV vaccines is allowed at the 11-12 year old 
recommendation. 

 
Please note:  No child shall attend  a child care facility as defined in G.S. 110-86(3), unless a certificate of 
immunization indicating that the child has received the immunizations required by G.S. 130A-152 is presented to 
the school or facility.  Anyone who is not age-appropriately vaccinated on the first day of attendance shall have 30 
calendar days to obtain the required immunizations. Upon termination of 30 calendar days or the extended period, 
the operator shall not permit the child to attend the facility unless the required immunizations have been obtained.  
 
For additional information regarding the new vaccine requirements please contact the on-call immunization nurse 
at the Immunization Branch, 919-707-5550. 
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Children attending child care 
centers or homes must receive 
shots – or immunizations.

You must collect shot records 
from parents and update your 
records until all required shots 
have been given.
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ips DTaP   Diphtheria, Tetanus and acellular Pertussis is sometimes combined with other 
vaccines and is written as DTaP-HepB-IPV, DTaP-IPV/Hib or DTaP-IPV. If it is written as DT, ask 
the parent for a doctor’s note stating why DT was used instead of DTaP. Children who receive the 
fourth DTaP after age 4 do not need a fifth dose.

Polio  Polio may be written as either OPV, IPV, Sabin Polio or EIPV. Polio may also be written as 
DTaP-HebB-IPV, DTaP-IVP/Hib or DTaP-IPV as a part of a combination vaccine. The fourth dose 
of polio must be received after the 4th birthday and before entering kindergarten. Children who 
receive the third dose of polio after age 4 do not need a fourth dose.

Hib  Haemophilus influenzae type B may be written by itself or as DTaP-IPV/Hib, 
or Hib-MenCY. Children receive either 3 or 4 doses of Hib, depending on the type of Hib given.

Hep B  Hepatitis B is required for all children born after July 1, 1994.

PCV  Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine is required for all children born on or after July 1, 
2015. The number of doses required varies based on the age of the child’s first vaccine.

MMR  Measles, Mumps and Rubella is a 3-in-one shot. The first dose can be given no earlier 
than the 1st birthday. The 2nd dose must be given before the child enters kindergarten.

Var Varicella (Chickenpox) – The first dose can be given no earlier than the 1st birthday and 
beginning July 1, 2015, the second dose is required before entering kindergarten.

By This Age.... Children  Need  These  Shots
3 months 1 DTaP 1 Polio 1 Hib 1 PCV 1 Hep B

5 months 2 DTaP 2 Polio 2 Hib 2 PCV 2 Hep B

7 months 3 DTaP 2 Polio 2-3 Hib 3 PCV 2 Hep B

12-16 months 3 DTaP 2 Polio 3-4 Hib 4 PCV 1 MMR 2 Hep B 1 Var+

19 months 4 DTaP 3 Polio 3-4 Hib 4 PCV 1 MMR 3 Hep B 1 Var+

4 years or older 
(in daycare only)

4 DTaP 3 Polio 3-4 Hib** 4 PCV** 1 MMR 3 Hep B 1 Var+

4 years or older 
(and in kindergarten)

5 DTaP* 4 Polio* 3-4 Hib** 4 PCV** 2 MMR* 3 Hep B 2 Var+*

*   The 5th DTaP: 4th Polio; 2nd MMR; and 2nd Varicella are not required until children enter kindergarten. The last DTaP and Polio must 
be after age 4.

** Children beyond their 5th birthday are not required to receive Hib or PCV vaccines
+   Vaccination is required unless signed documentation of disease history is provided by a health care worker stating the date or age 

of child’s infection.
Note: Hepatitis A, Rotavirus and Flu vaccines are not required or reportable but are recommended by the Advisory Committee on Immunization 
Practices.

IMPORTANT!
Parents or guardians must 
provide a child’s certificate 

of immunization within 
30 days of attendance.  

Children who are behind 
in their shots may be enrolled, 

but must also prove they 
are trying to get the needed 

vaccines and are meeting 
scheduled appointments.

If you have questions 
about immunizations, 
call your local 
health department 
or contact the NC 
Immunization Branch 
at 919-707-5550  
or visit 
www.immunize.nc.gov.
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